Apple iPhone 7 launch – from San Francisco

Apple reporters, developers and employees are gathering at San Francisco’s Bill Graham Civic Auditorium for the Cupertino company’s biggest product launch of 2016.

The new iPhone 7 and the first upgrade to the Apple Watch since its debut two years ago are expected, along with new “AirPod” wireless headphones and the latest iOS 10 software.

Apple’s anticipated move to dispense with the standard headphone jack to push consumers towards wireless audio is already causing controversy, so customers and analysts will be eager to hear how chief executive Tim Cook and his deputies explain the change. Another focus is the expected dual-lens camera, which could give the iPhone new optical-zoom or depth-sensing capabilities.

Tim Bradshaw and Richard Waters are reporting live from the event and rounding up reaction as it happens, starting at 10am Pacific Time (6pm in London, 1pm in New York).

Read more

Apple’s third-quarter earnings call – as it happened

Apple signaled to Wall Street that the worst of the iPhone decline is behind it, as it reported another slump in smartphone sales on Tuesday.

The Cupertino-based company has come under pressure to prove that its flagship product can grow again after reporting a 15 per cent drop in iPhones sold in the three months to June. Overall revenues fell 15 per cent to $42.4bn, with net income down 27 per cent to $7.8bn.

Nonetheless, Luca Maestri, Apple’s chief financial officer, said that iPhone sales fell at a slower rate than they had done in March, which he said had “turned out to be the low point for our cycle”. Apple shares rose 5 per cent after-hours on the more positive outlook.

Follow Tim Bradshaw and Richard Waters as they report live reaction to the results and commentary from Tim Cook, Apple chief executive, and Mr Maestri on the conference call with analysts.

Read more